London cultural experience

Wednesday 14/10/09, I had a cultural day at London. I took a 12.19 express train with Virgin train, very standard train i prefer the London Midland train, but unfortunately the London Midland takes extra 1/2 hours.

First destination was art culture at National Portraits Gallery http://www.npg.org.uk/ which hosting a gay icons exhibition, it was amazing. 10 famous gay people were chosen and their task is to choose 6 people who inspired them. http://www.npg.org.uk:8080/gayicons/index.htm

Other highlights of the gallery is the Tudor gallery and the current display of Twiggy: a life photograph celebrating the 60th birthday of the actress, which i found very exhilarating, she is a fashion icon famous for her cropped hairstyle in the 60’s and stunning actress.

Twiggy

Twiggy

It’s just amazing that time is worthless when you’re in a museum or gallery, you can spend hours without realising the time and feel restless even though you stand on your feet all day, if you’re enjoying it.

Second destination was fashion culture, I did some research the day before, where to find the cute and vintage shops, well I went to Twenty8Twelve http://www.twenty8twelve.com/ a clothing brand by Savannah Miller, the sister of Sienna Miller. I went to the shop in Newburgh St near Oxford circus, lots of cute shops and cafes on the same streets. While i was walking on Carnaby St, a woman stopped me and offered me to be a haircut model (free cut and colour), ooh i wanted to say yes but since I’m growing my hair I had to refuse 😦 honestly i hate the stated of my hair but it’s all about sacrifice.

After Carnaby St, i went into Liberty my fave department store in London http://www.liberty.co.uk/, it was quite busy since it’s a tourist area (Oxford circus!) i was admiring all the glamour when i entered the Hermes counter. They were having a photo shoot for the shoppers absolutely free! so you got to wear a Hermes scarf styled by a stylist and got your photo taken by a professional photographer and got your chosen photo printed!, so i joined the queue! I got three scarfs knotted and put around my neck, once a lifetime fashion experience! Too bad you didn’t get the scarf to take home! After the photo shoot i realised i had a long day, and my foot started to feel tired, so i went to the cafe and had a Japanese tea with a rich chocolate cake, indulgent!I actually still had a list of shops that i wanted to have a look at but my feet had refused.

Third destination was music culture at the Barbican theatre http://barbican.org.uk/, where i planned to meet my other half Ryan. A bit of drama because he was late, but we only missed a bit of the supporting artist, Taxi Taxi. Kings of convenience played a sold out gig! great venue and great performance! Peaceful and fun at the same time 🙂 We enjoyed it very much.

Well it was a great long day so we went back to the station and the train was delayed 😦 1/2 hour of wait. At the end we were home and snuggled under the blanket and closed our eyes. Goodnight London, thanks for the delightful day.

3 Responses

  1. you make me miss london, sweetie!
    am adding you to my blogroll so i can drop by often ‘kay? 😉
    keep writing! (and posting pictures!)

  2. I ♥ London 🙂 have you got any suggestion for places to check out?
    Where did you stay in London and for how long? it’s such an amazing city very vibrant.
    Thanks for adding me 🙂 i’m adding you too

  3. i’m so not surprised that you’re loving it – the city’s so you! i can easily imagine you livin’ it up in london! hehe. i was there for only four months which is definitely not enough to explore it completely even though i made it a point to drag my ass out to town every single weekend no matter what the weather!!! i was staying in a studio apartment in balham the whole time. i think london’s best explored on foot – i love all the museums and cafés and theatres and MARKETS! but then again, i’m not a shopping/shoe/bag addict so, my dear, we might not go for the same things 😉 also, sign up on the ryanair and easyjet websites coz when on sale, the flights can cost as cheap as five pounds incl tax!

Leave a Reply

