Autumn in Paris

It’s been almost 3 weeks since my last post. Yes I’ve been a bit of a slack lately, well I had been here and there. I’ve been to London a few times for several different reasons and I’ve spent quite a bit of time in Borders to finish a book. Oh well too many excuses! I think I just had been lazy and focused too much on winter shopping.

As you can read on my previous post, I was so excited about our trip to Paris. Paris is in the list of countries I had to visit before I reach 30. The most exciting bit was I went with my gorgeous fiancée. We got a really cheap flight deal from Ezyjet. The flight was on 7 am in the morning, not too exciting for Ryan because he’s not a morning person, but I didn’t want to waste any time at all. Me & Ryan have a different style of travelling, I’m a planner and want to see everything I can when I visit a new place while Ryan likes to have a relaxing trip and he’s not much a planner. Well, the flight was on time but we didn’t get to sit together since Ezyjet is a budget plane so they don’t allocate seats. But it was ok, it was only an 1 hour flight. Yaaay we arrived in Paris at 9 am, early hours happy me, sleepy Ryan.

We took the RER from Charles de Gauelle airport to the central of Paris, the train was a pleasant journey with buskers entertaining us. We went straight to the hotel, Hotel de l’Avré located near the Champ de Mars and Eiffel tower. It was still to early to check in but the hotel staff were very nice and offered us to keep our luggage.

We went for a walk along the streets to Eiffel tower holding hands and continued to Louvre and Les Halles. At that time I already found Paris beautiful, the city is so pretty. Ryan with our big camera took pictures of the city and his only model —->ME. The architecture, the buildings and the gardens were so magnificent. We walked past Jardin du Carrousel and Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel. The sky started to spit but it was ok, it made the atmosphere even more romantic. We went inside Musée du Louvre and spent hours there. The museum was so huge that you need more than a day to see all the exhibitions. Ryan was amazed by all the statues and took a whole lot pictures of them, especially the ones with a weird genitals! The apartment of Napoleon Bonaparte is also inside the museum. It was so pretty and bourgeois. After museum visit, we walked along Rue de Rivoli to the Les Halles. There were plenty of Brasseries, Patisseries and Cafés around this area, we sat down and had champagne, divine. We also bought some delicious cakes to take home and I tried to eat a pot of créme brulée with my tongue because we didn’t have a spoon. We got back to the hotel and relaxed for a bit, it had been a long day. We got ready and went to the Latin Quarter for dinner. There were plenty of cheap set menus in area. French food can be really expensive but this area offered at quite a bargain. We tried Escargot (snails) and no i didn’t like it, but it was worth an experience, so Ryan ate the rest, hahaha.

Paris was so easy to get around. Metro (underground train), RER and trains are everywhere and not as busy as London tube. We started our second day in Paris with a french breakfast at the nearby patisserie, I just loved the smells of fresh pastries and in Paris, they were everywhere. I loved my croissant but Ryan was not happy with just croissants for breakfast, oh well. Then, we took an RER to Versailles. Our journey got interrupted by a bunch of obnoxious young Americans, who were so loud. Ryan got cranky at them. We got to Chåteau de Versailles and queued for 1/2 hour behind the Americans so Ryan got even crankier, and then we entered the amazing palace. The Chåteau was busy with tourists and the place was so big it took us 4 hours to admire it. We went to get some lunch in the area and hardly anything was open except one Chinese restaurant and kebab place. I’m not a big fan of kebab so I finally found a patisserie and bought an almond croissant and french pizza, while Ryan ate his kebab. We took an RER back to the centre of Paris and went to St Germain des Prés, the place reminded me of St Etienne, one of my fave french indie band. We walked along Blvd St Germain and I stopped by to get crepes, yummy !! one of my fave snack, they are everywhere in Paris and I love them. Then, I turned around and these Paris roller (mass skate) went pass us, loads of people on their roller blade rolling the streets of Paris and apparently it’s a weekly thing. We went back to the hotel to get ready for Eiffel at night and Montmartre.

Eiffel was so much more beautiful at night. In the daylight, it looked like a piece of metal. Ryan loves lights, so he was loving the lights on the tower. The night was cold, and he hugged me tightly on the way there. We went to the top and it was full of couples and yes, somehow most of them kissed, it might be cliché but I like it. The view from the top was amazing, and the atmosphere too. We didn’t realise that it was already late so we jumped on the metro and headed to Les Deux Moulins Café in Montmartre. This Café is very special to me because Amélie Poulain from the movie Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain worked there. It was one of my fave movie of all time!

paris

There was an incident when we just got off the metro station. A french guy approached us and started talking really fast in French and we told him we could not understand him and he went away. Ryan told me the guy tried to pickpocket him but Ryan did not bring his wallet with him. Well that was lucky!

Day 3, our last day in Paris 😦 We decided to have a relaxing day. We went to Bastille for breakfast and then walked along Rue de Rivoli to Centre Pampidou, a Paris cultural centre that has a distinctive architecture. Then, we went to Champs-Élysées and walked to Arc de Triomphe, took pictures just like other tourists. There was this Chinese guy who posed in so many different poses for ages, it was funny to watch. Our last stop was the Opéra and we tried to find this Japanese restaurant that was recommended by lonely planet and ended up walking up and down the street trying to find it. We finally found the place but it was not open yet. Not a good sign since we had to catch the train to the airport soon. I was craving for Japanese food, because in UK, they’re just hard to find. We walked a bit and found a few Japanese restaurants in the area and we were not disappointed.

The journey to the airport however was not as smooth as we thought. The train line for the airport in the station was closed and since our french was not that good and all the announcements were in French, it was difficult to find a way. We asked some of the locals and got a bit of clue. There was a protest so the line had been diverted. We had to be in the airport soon so we just followed our instinct and prayed we would get to the airport in time. Finally we got into the right train and got to the airport early.

It had been a wonderful trip and totally new cultural experience for us. Au revoir Paris. We can’t wait to come back in the summer.

2 Responses

  1. yay! you updated! 🙂

  2. hahaa yeah! it took me a week just to write it! The journey was so overwhelming that my brain got confused! lol

Leave a Reply

