Breakfast.. is a must!

I love breakfast and i think  it’s a common knowledge that a good breakfast is a good start for your day. When I lived in Jakarta, my fave breakfast is bubur ayam from the street vendor. It’s a savoury chicken rice porridge, served with Chinese doughnut, spring onions, fried peanuts, fried shallots, pickled radish, soy sauce and crackers (bitternuts or prawn) and sambal. It’s very difficult to make a tasty bubur ayam, i tried it a few times but there’s always something missing in the flavour so i give up.The bubur ayam seller near my old house in Jakarta knows me very well. He always asks my dad when I’ll be coming home so he will make sure the bubur ayam is available for me.

When I moved to Australia, the option for breakfast is better. There are so many cafes in Melbourne that serve a good breakfast. My favourite areas are South Melbourne and Fitzroy. My choice is usually vegetarian, because I’m not a fan of bacon and sausages. Any kind of omelettes and poached eggs would make me happy. When the first time I met Ryan, he won my heart by cooking breakfast for me almost everyday. but since he’s English, he only cooked English breakfast which is very fattening and as a result, I gained a few kgs. So he stopped. The other favourite of mine is french toast served with cottage cheese and plum compote.

Today I made banana toasties which is very easy to make, healthy and delicious. I’m a fan of banana, I love banana cooked in any ways.

Banana toasties

You need:

  • 2 slices of wholemeal bread
  • 1 teaspoon of sesame seeds
  • 1 banana, slice
  • Light soft cheese e.g. kraft Philadelphia
  • Maple syrup

Place the bread on the grill and toast just one side. Turn the bread over and spread the soft cheese (not on the toasted side). Sprinkle with sesame seeds and put the sliced banana on top. Drizzle with maple syrup. Put back on the grill and toast until it bubbles.

Yummy!

Leave a Reply

